Hello again all!!
Just coming back from Spring break and getting back into the rhythm of everything. Wow did that go by faster than I anticipated lol... but doesn't it always?
So... do you watch "the Biggest Loser"? Yea, I do, hardcore. Don't worry tho, no spoilers cus I haven't even watched the last episode yet. Just an interesting idea came from the epidose that we watched the other night. Bob was wearing a shirt that said "3 on, 1 off, 365 a year". I thought, hmmm... how interesting is that? That's something new that we have never tried. We went to the gym Monday, and decided we were already a third of the way through, so let's give it a shot!
Today was Day 2.
Just... Wow. Tuesdays and Thursdays are already pretty tough due to scheduling, and by the time I get home, I am nearly psychotically grouchy and just exhausted.
(My poor hubby. God bless him and his infinite patience.)
These are usually the days I end up not going.
But you know what, we fought for it and went, as hard as it was. The workout was pitiful compared to what I normally pull, but shaky and awful as I felt walking out, there was definately a part of me that was so proud that I went. The truth of it is, that 400 calories I burned and sweated out is 400 more than would have been accomplished if I sat on the couch pouting about feeling like crap. Now I can sit on the couch and feel like crap and be proud that I got a burn in lol!
I think this is an interesting idea because I would say a good 90% of my difficulities in the workout arena are in my head. I know I trip myself out and then end up struggling.
For instance, when I'm on the elliptical, if I'm fighting to keep going and having a hard time, if I look at the time, or the calorie count, it almost works against me... or I should say *I* work against me lol. I just get the feeling like "Oh my goodness I have SO much left to do", instead of, "wow look at how far I am" or even "cool, I got off my ass and made it here" which is, more often than not, the hardest part.
But when I close my eyes and/or focus on my music, I can instantly feel a difference and I know I just need to get out of my own head. Once I can do that, it flips and I feel like "alright, already made it this far, might as well hit the next goal".
It also fits nicely because we break up our weight training into three groups, so each group will be trained, we'll have a day off, and start the rotation again. The days will cycle differently each time so, for me at least, it will seem new and different each time so I won't get bored with having a set schedule. (Unfortunately, I seem to rebel when things are too scheduled and planned when it comes to working out, which is nonsense because I know it is in my best interest.) If I'm scheduled to do cardio, I go in and want to lift. If I'm supposed to lift, I just want to do cardio...
Oi. Who's got two thumbs and is a phenomenal pain in the ass?? Lmao...
Anyway... It will also mean that without stressing about it, we will be getting the blood pumping 6 days a week (most weeks lol) which is infinitely better than going weeks without working out at all.
I feel really positive and excited about it, and look forward to seeing it progress. Will definately keep you posted!!
NOW, on to the Pintrest Foodie Finds I told you about!
I'm thinking I might just share one each time, cus if I just went ahead about all the pins I'm excited about, whew! I'm sure you guys already know how insane (and dangerous) Pintrest is lol
Ok, so my big junky cravings are usually ice cream, pizza, and some kind of brownie or cake-ish chocolatey goodness. In my search for healthy cheats in these categories, I found a recipe for ...
Dah dah DAAAAAAHHHHH... Cauliflower Pizza Crust.
Holy Cow.
Not only is it simple, it was AMAZING. The texture was different, so you could tell it wasn't bread, but holy damn did it TASTE insanely good.
Awesome awesome trick to have in your back pocket for a rainy day. I know I saw a similar recipe to use it for garlic bread rather than pizza crust, and one of these days when that craving hits, I will most definately be trying that one as well!!
I usually have low sodium tomato sauce on hand, and I used thinly sliced mozz and kept it really simple... and this is how it turned out!!
So this pizza serves 6, and shakes out to about 230 calories per slice.
Woohoo!! Give it a try if it sounds interesting... definately worth it, IMHO.
Alrighty guys, signing off for the night. Hope this was fun, and as always, thanks for reading!!




